The annual conference of the Nuclear Society of Slovenia is a traditional meeting of professionals, researchers, academics, members of regulatory bodies and others involved in the peaceful use of nuclear energy. The international conference "Nuclear Energy for New Europe 2005" was the fourteenth in the series, which started in 1992. This year, the conference was attended by 197 registered participants from 24 countries. The conference thus proved to be an international forum for the exchange of ideas from various topics related to nuclear energy.

The editorial activities of these proceedings started in the spring of 2005 with the issuing of the Call for papers. In June, the meeting of the Program committee was held in Ljubljana, where 177 submitted abstracts were considered and the program of the conference was outlined. At the conference, five invited lectures, one keynote lecture and 144 papers were presented (69 papers as oral presentations and 75 as posters). After the review process, 132 final papers were submitted for publication in the proceedings.

Following the tradition of previous meetings, the contest for best papers by first authors aged no more than 32 years was also organized to foster the development of future nuclear professionals. This year, the awards were presented to Jiŕi Kŕepel from Forschungszentrum Rossendorf (Germany) and Miroslav Babić from the Jožef Stefan Institute (Slovenia).

We take this opportunity to express our gratitude to the Jožef Stefan Institute and to all other sponsors and organizations that contributed to the success of the meeting. In particular, we would like to thank the members of the Program committee who elaborated the conference programme, the members of the Award committee who selected the best papers by young authors, the Session chairs who ensured a smooth running of the conference, and the reviewers who contributed to the final form of these proceedings. Finally, we would also like to acknowledge the dedication and work of all the members of the Organizing committee, of Darja, Uršula, Petra and Damjana at the registration desk, and of all others who contributed to the organization of the conference.

Ivo Kljenak
Chairman of the Organizing committee

Borut Mavko
Chairman of the Program committee

Ljubljana, December 2005